Rapid Reframing

This was an interesting 25 minute call with a mentee of mine. When he called me, he was downcast and confused. He had been given an offer of a business analyst ex campus in a reputed ITES organization. Within a few weeks of joining, he was put into a different assignment and then told that he was being appointed a team leader in their BPO and may need to serve in that position for 2 years or more.
The guy was broken. The organization was about to issue him a letter saying ‘team leader’ and he thought his career would be lost if he accepted that letter and carried on for at least 2 years in this role which he wasn’t particularly fond of.
In those 25 minutes, the story got totally reframed and what emerged was that he was now on a ‘paid holiday’ and the organization had given him a great exit license by giving him an appointment letter in May saying business analyst and in July, changing it unilaterally to Team Leader.
Here is the story narrated by the mentee in his own words. You can feel the relaxed energy.
My paisa vasool for the day, as they say :-).
Isn’t this what we live for? To see a genuine smile and a sense of lightness of being? I got it this time. In 25 minutes. What else can I call it but ‘Rapid Reframing’ 🙂

Paid Holiday – the story as told by my mentee

There I was cozily dressed up for the first of my first day of induction. Excitement in the air for meeting my new colleagues with my new role as ‘Business Analyst’ or may be even my life partner. Everything went as expected (including few good looking girls for the later part of the excitement).  I was on boarded in to this top class MNC. Life was not easy for me for the last year my MBA tenure I was tested mentally & physically. My mind was bridled to the life I will be having with my tag as a Business Analyst.  Days passed and I was going through the initial logistics of getting a workplace. I slowly started to realize that I am not doing any work related to my favorite tag name. I was explained about my 2 year career plan in order to convert me to be a successful consultant. 2 year of time is big asking. To my surprise I am not anymore holding my tag of business analyst as it got automatically changed to “Team Leader” without my knowledge (Due to non-availability of BA role in BPO space). I was in agony of jeopardizing my future continuing with the same role. Reached out to senior management and as reply was we go as per the 2 year plan and no deviations from it. So I sit completely broken for couple of days and it became the routine until I reflected the whole story.  What if I start applying outside? Am I running away from the responsibility and will I be labeled as Non-flexible category absolutely not!!. The basic level of hygiene I would expect is at least the favorite tag name which is not with me anymore . I am confident that I would be cracking any interview (of my forte of course)and to support my early shift, is my relieving letter with the “Team leader” tag!!. The Almighty has put me here to learn something, a paid vacation kind? How about that, How wonderful!! As I will be getting my dream offer soon yet again or if I continue I will get the same dream offer as per the 2 year deal. Anyways I am going to land up with the dream offer whatever the path I choose. In fact I should thank almighty that he gave me a paid vacation to learn new arena.  Whatever it is I am hopeful that everything happens for a reason and learning!!

Lessons Learnt:

1)      It’s all about our mindset and perception. When perception changes, everything changes like I converted my agony days to paid vacation!!

2)      Life is not going to be the same sweet scenario. Expect the unexpected, smile always, be cheerful!!

Vinit Taneja
Founder – Tresonance Consulting & Tresonance Foundation
vinit.taneja@tresonance.com
My purpose – Enable individuals and organizations to discover and manifest their deeper calling

One thought on “Rapid Reframing

  1. The value of a ray of light in a dark and depressed mind can only be truly understood by someone who has done time in the solitary confinement of his / her depression.

    My compliments, Vinit, for keeping the torch burning.
    My your light house keep guiding…..

Leave a comment