Finding my calling – Child’s play

Last week, I was part of an interesting experiment called ‘Interfaith exchange’. It started as a mail sent to 20 people as a bcc with 2 email IDs given in the body of the mail numbered 1 and 2. Once you receive the mail, you are requested to send a quotation or thought that guides you in life to the first named person in the email. Then, in a separate email, whose text was given (explaining the whole concept), you write a bcc to 20 people you know. In that email, you put the person marked No 2 as No 1 and put yourself as No 2. As a result of this, I received some beautiful quotes and thoughts from strangers who became fellow life travelers within a few exchanges.
One such exchange happened between a 13-year old and me. This exchange truly opened my eyes once again to the fact that age is never a bar to thinking about one’s Tresonance. If your parents are supportive and enable that inquiry, you begin early.
I am reproducing below parts of the exchange. I still cannot imagine she is only 13. Her father and I know each other very well. Her father follows the teachings of Nithya Shanti, a spiritual happiness coach and is a practitioner. It is obvious how much of this has rubbed off on his daughter.
“I know not much about Tresonance foundation, but what I understood is that it helps you discover your passion, the egg of the individual inside you waiting to crack. Well, I am in 8th. Going in 9th this year. So I need to discover my passion, THE thing which will give me thrills for the rest of life. Trying to meet new people, explore about different career options and all those kind of things……‎
I believe you are an extremely successful and satisfied person in life. If you don’t mind, could I ask you, How you discovered what you want to do in life? What you wanted to be? Because being very frank, I have no idea of what I want to do in life. I got to decide what I want to do with my life, soon and quick.
………..‎
I always appreciate meeting new people and in making the most of it, and so, it is a pleasure getting to know somebody like you! 🙂
……..‎
It is actually papa who planted the seed of awareness in me. He started talking to me about my career last year, wanted me to do internships somewhere etc. but, as any 12 year old would have thought, I also felt that what was the need to do jobs, to start talking to people when you’re just 12 and you have almost 4 years ahead of you to think about those things. Still, he consistently pushed me to get to know more about a thousand different things I can do in life and what it takes to achieve those things, how much you can learn if you talk to new people! He was my first guiding light on what I want to do in life and what I can do. So papa is the one who deserves the credit (for my interest in this area). ‎
‎…….
I am not really reflecting on it (finding my calling) the way I should..I’ve just started thinking about it. Not done anything yet. And just thinking isn’t going to really help. After all, we can’t be thinking of what to do and how to do it, all our life..!‎….

Peace,
Name withheld”

Thank you for such beautiful souls on this planet

2 thoughts on “Finding my calling – Child’s play

  1. Hi Vinit,
    The earnestness and sincerity of this girl’s quest is very touching. However, I am worried with her intense focus on wanting to find THE thing which will thrill her for the rest of her life! Are we humans so unidimensional that one thing, THE thing, can fulfill us completely forever?
    While I am myself in search of discovering my tresonance and passion, I fear this excessive focus on “finding our passion” or calling has put an unnecessary stress on the youth today and created a lot of dissatisfaction with what one is currently ding and actually stopped one from being in the present as one is always in search of this ONE thing that will make everything awesome. In this quest one can forget to live.
    I feel it is necessary to encourage this girl to explore and discover herself but also to caution her against the mania of THE one thing. Just like we learnt about The ONE right person in fairytale love stories. It doesn’t happen. You find someone and build on it. Sometimes I feel passion is something like that. You get passionate when you immerse yourself deeper and deeper into something rather than testing each thing for whether it is your passion.

    Cheers,
    Meenakshi

    • Hi Meenakshi

      I agree with the spirit of your observation. Getting too vested and desperate about finding a future is as much of an issue as being clueless is.

      But I also feel that today this inquiry is conspicuous by its absence and, if it does exist, it ought not to be snuffed out but guided rather gently.

      I am hopeful that the combination of Nithya’s teaching, her father’s guidance and her own stirrings will be a great combination in balancing her living in the moment and finding perfection with her having an aspiration and intention :-). Vinit

Leave a comment